A strong Network

The Migration and Development Council (MDC) is an association of more than 30 international diverse organisations and companies. The members have a wide range of project experiences and an enormous expertise in integrative and development work. The common goal of a more effective development and inclusion work unites our actions and motivates our political work.

11png_zeichenflche-1-kopie-10

History

The idea of the MDC evolved in 2018 as part of Migrafrica’s empowerment workshops for migrant organizations. Together with 20 German migrant organizations we developed goals and initiated a political request to the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development BMZ.

The Symposium of Development (Fachtag der Entwicklung) in Cologne on June 13, 2019 with 200 participants was the starting signal for the activities of the MDC. Representatives from politics, administration, science, civil society and business discussed and developed further approaches and solutions for a more effective and participative development cooperation. As a result the first important collaborations and synergies for future projects were created for the MDC.

bild-1-fr-entstehungsgeschichte-fachtag-der-entwicklung

Last activities

Our demands

The participation of migrant organizations in development and integrative work must increase. Otherwise, their unique expertise and perspective remain unused
• We demand for the expansion and adjustment of funding at national and international levels.
• We demand equal opportunities for migrant organizations.
• We demand for the active participation of migrant organizations in the political dialogue.

EU-WIDE NETWORK DEVELOPMENT

The objectives of the MDC were presented by Migrafrica within the framework of various EU projects and were well received by the participating (migrant) organisations and companies. Important international partners and members could be won for the network and future cooperations were planned.

bild-2-fr-nap-i

Participation in NAP-I

As a member of the MDC, Migrafrica was invited to the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation (BMZ) to advise the ministry on the development of the National Action Plan Integration (NAP-I) at the thematic forum "Migration and Development Cooperation". This federal strategy pays particular attention to working with migrant organizations. Thereby, the MDC was able to introduce the above-mentioned demands at federal level. For example, we requested adjusted funding guidelines for development projects by migrant organisations and corresponding professionalisation measures to promote the change from volunteering to full-time office.

Ein starkes Netzwerk

Der Migration and Development Council (MDC) ist ein Zusammenschluss von über 30 internationalen mehrheitlich migrantischen Organisationen und Unternehmen. Die Mitglieder haben diverse Projekterfahrungen und eine enorme Expertise in der integrativen und entwicklungspolitischen Arbeit. So gestalten wir gemeinsam eine partizipative und effektivere Integrationsarbeit und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

11png_zeichenflche-1-kopie-10

Entstehung

Die Idee des MDC ist 2018 in Rahmen von Empowerment Workshops für migrantische Organisationen von Migrafrica entstanden. Gemeinsam mit 20 migrantischen Organisationen auf Bundesebene entwickelten wir Ziele und eine erste politische Forderung an das BMZ.

Der Fachtag der Entwicklung am 13.06.2019 in Köln mit 200 Teilnehmenden war der Startschuss für die Aktivitäten des MDC. Akteur*innen aus Politik, Verwaltung, Wissenschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wirtschaft erarbeiteten Handlungs- und Lösungsansätze für eine partizipative und effektivere Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. So entstanden für den MDC erste wichtige Kooperationen und Synergien für zukünftige Projekte.

bild-1-fr-entstehungsgeschichte-fachtag-der-entwicklung

Erste Aktivitäten

Unsere Forderungen

Die Partizipation von migrantischen Organisationen in der entwicklungspolitischen und integrativen Arbeit muss zunehmen. Ansonsten bleibt ihre einmalige Expertise und Perspektive ungenutzt.
• Wir fordern den Ausbau und eine Anpassung der Förderung auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.
• Wir fordern Chancengleichheit für migrantische Organisationen.
• Wir fordern eine aktive Beteiligung der migrantischen Organisationen an dem politischen Dialog.

EU-weiter Netzwerkaufbau

Die Zielsetzungen des MDC wurden im Rahmen von diversen EU Projekten von Migrafrica vorgestellt und fanden bei den teilnehmenden (migrantischen) Organisationen und Unternehmen großen Anklang. Es konnten wichtige internationale Partner und Mitglieder für das Netzwerk gewonnen und zukünftige Kooperationen geplant werden.

bild-2-fr-nap-i

Mitwirkung NAP-I

Als Mitglied des MDC wurde Migrafrica in das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit (BMZ) eingeladen, um das Minsterium bei der Entwicklung des Nationalen Aktionsplan Integration (NAP-I) beim Themenforum „Migration und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit“ zu beraten. Besonderes Augenmerk dieser Bundesstrategie liegt auf der Zusammenarbeit mit migrantischen Organisationen. So konnte der MDC die oben genannten Forderungen auf Bundesebene einbringen. Beispielsweise wurden angepasste Förderrichtlinien für entwicklungspolitische Projekte von migrantischen Organisationen und entsprechende Professionalisierungsmaßnahmen, die den Wechsel vom Ehrenamt ins Hauptamt fördern, verlangt.